Beck’s & Buckler: Non-alcoholic beer showdown

Hey beer lovers,

Today I am coming to you from the Flying Saucer, home of countless beers and the always popular $2.75 fire sale. Tomorrow I will be taking the LSAT, as such, I am abstaining for alcohol and have decided to explore the oft-forgotten part of the menu…the non-alcoholic side.

The Saucer is sensitive to the wants of those seeking alcohol-free beer

Believe it or not, such beers exist! Truthfully, they do contain a small amount of alcohol, usually under 0.5% by volume. Neverthless, the amount of alcohol is so small, it would take ALOT to even sniff the buzzed state of mind. In order to make these creations, brewers will generally go through the process of vacuum evaporation.

Interestingly enough, both of these beers were quite tasty…but only one can win today’s showdown.

First, I tried Beck’s non-alcoholic. According to their wesbite, the brewers “stop the fermentaion before the alcohol can form, but not before it achieves the distictive taste and aroma of a Beck’s.”

With hardly any alcohol, this beer packs a strong smell but not much of a taste.

Beck’s poured a golden yellow with no head and a pretty strong aroma. It doesn’t pack a huge punch as far as taste goes but does maintain a very soft, semi-sweet aftertaste.

My rating: 2.75 out of 5 mugs

(See our rating scale here)

After Beck’s, I tried Heinekin’s Buckler beer. Although beeradvocate didn’t think very highly, I found this beer to be pretty good.

Honey Smacks beer? Its not quite that sweet.

It was similar in color to Beck’s but seems to have less carbonation. After pouring it, no head appeared and the aroma was nonexistant. The taste was interesting, my first thought was “this beer tastes like Honey smacks without the sugar.” It left no aftertaste and was very easy to drink.

My rating: 3.25 out of 5 mugs (TODAYS WINNER!!!)

Thank you for reading today’s post. I hope ya’ll enjoy the big game tomorrow night! Hook’em and cheers!

5 Responses to “Beck’s & Buckler: Non-alcoholic beer showdown”

  1. Nice post. I haven’t tried NA beers since I was in the Army. I had some buddies who attempted to drink like 30 to get a buzz (this was in an area where alcohol was off limits). We had NA Coors and O’Douls – not very good.

    How did you do on the LSAT?

  2. NA beer blows my mind, but then again I’ve never tried it. Always joked about giving someone a NA beer at a party back in high school to see if they acted drunk but none of us ever did. Good review

  3. I’m surprised that you liked it, I’ve actually never had one because I thought it wouldn’t taste very good. Do they have any other NA beers that you know of?

  4. I have seen a lot of useful issues on your web site about pcs.
    However, I have the viewpoint that lap tops are still less than powerful enough to
    be a sensible choice if you usually do tasks that require a great deal of
    power, for example video editing and enhancing. But for world-wide-web surfing, microsoft word processing, and quite a few
    other frequent computer work they are perfectly, provided you
    can’t mind small screen size. Thank you for sharing your thinking.

Leave a Reply

