Raison D’Etre and Woodchuck Draft Pear Cider

Hello again, everyone. I trust you all had a great Thanksgiving week and did plenty of beer research over the holidays. And since we have this here blog, I thought I would go ahead and share some of the “research” that I did over this past week.

First off, I tried the Raison D’Etre from the Dogfish Head Brewery.

As I said in the video, the Dogfish company describes the Raison D’Etre as “A deep, mahogany ale brewed with beet sugar, green raisins, and Belgian-style yeast.” And, in spite of my claims that it did not require food, the website recommends a pairing with “Steak, duck…blue cheese, goat cheese, (and) ham.” What I neglected to mention about this beer became evident as I continued drinking it.

The Raison D’Etre has an ABV of 8% and also packs quite a punch at the end. Drinking one bottle feels like two bottles of a typical beer. Towards the end, this beer was giving me a serious whiskey face. Not that I’m not a fan of whiskey or other hard liquors, but the unexpectedness of it was a little jarring.

For the next tasting, I decided to go with something a little smoother, the Woodchuck Draft Pear Cider from the Green Mountain Cidery in Springfield, Vermont.

Compared to my previous cider post, I definitely prefer the Woodchuck family of ciders over the Samuel Smith. In addition to the Pear cider, the Woodchuck brand also has multiple flavors of cider including Granny Smith, Amber, 802, and Raspberry depending on your preference. The website is also very helpful by providing food recipes that use their cider for added flavor in cooking. Another informative feature is the number of “drink mixables” that they offer to combine cider with hard liquor.

Once again, I hope everyone’s holiday was spectacular, and I will hopefully have another post for you very soon.

3 Responses to “Raison D’Etre and Woodchuck Draft Pear Cider”

  1. I never thought about pairing certain beers with food, but it definitely makes sense. I’m also a huge fan of Woodchuck Ale ciders, especially the granny smith.

  2. I’m glad you posted about another Cider, they are often overlooked by bars and beer-lovers alike. haha, I love the link to whiskey face.

  3. brandonfried Says:

    Woodchuck is great and can be found really, really easily all over town (one of the two you’ll find regularly at HEB haha). Thanks for mixing it up, Tim!

Leave a Reply

