Trip to Houston, where beer culture is alive and well!

Hey beer lovers,

On Friday, I was in Houston for a mini business trip. Once I was finished, I decided I would find a local brewpub to review and have a cold one. This may have the been on the best decisions I’ve made on a trip.

My friend Erin recommended that I try a place called Taps House of Beers, which is located just west of downtown Houston. Here is a video from just outside the bar:

Once in the bar, I was greeted by a laundry list of beers, a wide variety of games (billiards, shuffle board, washers, and fuzzball), and multiple big screen tvs. Taps also had very reasonably priced food items ($2 Pretzel, $7 pizza, FREE popcorn, and FREE hot dogs). I tried the pretzel and then enjoyed three of the complementary hot dogs and a little popcorn. Taps is definitely a great place to be, they have two outdoor ares and a very large, spacious indoor area.

In this video, the camera girl caught me enjoying a hot dog:

After this video was shot, Erin called and said she and her boyfriend were coming by, so I decided to order a third and final beer. Here is a quick review of the beers:

St. Arnold’s Lawnmower

Since I was in Houston, I had to drink local for the first pint, and I’m glad I did. The lawnmower was light, tasty, and well worth a try. Brewed in Houston at St. Arnold’s Brewing Company, this Kolsch-style beer exceeded my expectations.

My grade: 4.5 out of 5 mugs

Hacker Pschorr Hefe

This is a German beer! The Hacker Pschorr website doesn’t even have an English version. Nevertheless, this brew is up there with my favorite hefes. Served with a lemon slice, this wheat-beer complemented the lemon perfectly. It had a very balanced taste, very smooth, and also very light. This beer is definitely the lemonade of beers, cool and refreshing.

My grade: 4 out of 5 mugs

Lindemans Framboise

The beer, brewed by Brouwerij Lindemans, was basically juice. It was tart, with very few beer-qualities. However, if you have a friend who hates the taste of beer (the horror!), I highly recommend this for them. It is a bit low on alcohol content, something like 2.5, but that is the trade-off for drinking something that tastes like candy.

My grade: 3.5 out of 5 mugs (better than cranberry juice, not quite as good as OJ)

Since this blog is about what you, the beer enthusiasts think, I turned the camera on my trusty camera girl, Abbie, to get her take on the bar.

The last point I want to make before signing out is PLEASE don’t drink and drive. For that matter, try not to be that guy or girl puking at the beer tasting (which I’ve seen). Taps had a nifty device at the entrance that   amount of alcohol in your system. Be sure to read up on the law and above all, don’t be stupid, when you go out to enjoy a few beers. Always have a DD. Here is a video of me trying out the breathalyzor. Until next time, Cheers! -Adam

4 Responses to “Trip to Houston, where beer culture is alive and well!”

  1. Looks like a cool place. I like the breathalyzer at the door. Very handy!

  2. Cassandra Hernandez Says:

    Adam–loved the videos. I liked the before video and the one at the breath alyzer afterwards–classic! I was just in Houson on Thursday also, I definitely have to check this out next time, I am not much of a drink but always up for free food. Great way to take a spin on your brew blog–keep it up!

  3. This is a great post. I like all the video and how you make it a point to address multiple beers in each post and research them online as well! You should consider doing a post on some of the more reputable pubs that are within a walking distance from campus. I mean I’m sure everyone’s heard of Cain and Abel’s, but pubs like Crown and Anchor ( just north of the engineering building) are less well known and are great spots for a lunch beer on a hot day!

  4. […] what other alternative beers exist and if they are any good and as you may have read in my Houston post, I have tried Lindeman’s Framboise and found it to be pretty good. My friend and I are going […]

Leave a Reply

