Samuel Smith’s

We here at Austin Brew realize that not everyone likes the taste of beer, and some are unable to drink beer entirely. So, at the suggestion of one of our dear friends over Austin Eats Sandwiches, I have decided to try out a cider as a nice alternative to our normal brews.

 

Picture 002

This Organic Cider is gluten-free.

For this tasting, I decided to do two selections from the Samuel Smith Brewery located in Yorkshire, England. The first is their Organic Cider, which it says is “produced from organically grown apples.”  In addition to boasting that all of their beer products are vegan, the Cider also happens to be “high in natural antioxidants” and “gluten-free.”

 

The cider was very strong, with a 5% alcohol per volume content. The cider was also highly carbonated and left a very fizzy feeling on my tongue. It wasn’t too sweet, and the taste of apples was not overwhelming. It had a very similar taste to champagne, so that might be a good gauge as to whether you will enjoy it or not. The web page is also very helpful, giving tips for potential food pairings. On the Austin Brew Scale, I give this a 3.5 out of 5 mugs.

In keeping with the Samuel Smith theme, I also decided to try an old fashioned ale: Samuel Smith’s Nut Brown Ale, to be precise. The ale is described as having “a round, nutty flavor because of the Yorkshire square system of fermentation.”

 

Picture 008

Nut Brown Ale with fancy gold wrapping.

The ale produced a rather significant head when poured, which is also due in part to the fermentation system. The aroma is slightly sweet with a slight floral hint. The overall taste is, as one would expect, quite nutty, but there is also a slight citrusy tinge to the beer as well. The aftertaste is also quite hoppy as well, and I could see this going very well with a food pairing. Overall, I would give this a 3.75 out of 5 mugs.

 

Well, until next time, this is Tim saying “Cheers for now”.

9 Responses to “Samuel Smith’s”

  1. brandonfried Says:

    Tim – awesome post. As a cider fan who sadly must avoid beers for the most part, I really appreciate you taking some time to explore beer alternatives. I’ve actually yet to try either of these ciders but I am definitely going to give them both a try very, very soon. Where did you find them? I haven’t seen these at the places I usually shop (Central Market, etc.) but looks like I should explore some more.

    Thanks, again. Great reviews!

    • Thanks, I appreciate it!

      Well the second one is actually an ale, but I found them both at Spec’s, specifically the one on 51st near Airport Blvd. I will try to review more of Samuel Smith’s Cider options in the future so look for that in the next couple of weeks.

  2. I always forget that cider is an option and had never heard of these two before. I’ll have to be on the look out for them the next time I go out!

  3. Hey Tim,

    Good post, I’m glad that you brought in a cider for our readers. Were did you get the Cider? The camera girl from my most recent post

    https://austinbrew.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/trip-to-houston-where-beer-culture-is-alive-and-well/

    doesn’t like beer and I’d like to pass it along to her. Thanks!

    • I actually found it at Spec’s, which is near 51st and Airport, but there’s also several in town including one off of Brodie on West Ben White Blvd. They had several Samuel Smith’s there and I think they have other flavors of cider as well. I will probably try them all at some point.

  4. I LOVE cider but have never tried these ! I will have to now !! I had this really awesome one at Dog & Duck the other night – pear or something. Wish I could remember what it was…

  5. […] post about Cider got me wondering about what other alternative beers exist and if they are any good and […]

  6. I just like the helpful info you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly.
    I am moderately certain I will learn many new stuff proper here!
    Good luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

