Independence Brewery (1 of 2)

Last night I had the pleasure of visiting the owners of Austin’s Independence Brewery, Rob and Amy Cartwright. The married couple talked to me about the four-year-old brewery’s history, their brewing process, and some of their future plans. A friend of mine and myself shot over an hour of video during our conversation and I expect to have two videos for Austin brew viewers in my Monday post. Rob told me that he got the idea to start the Independence brewery while he was working as a brewer at the now extinct Coppertank brewpub. Rob said that after he met his wife Amy, the two decided to take a risk and begin creating what is today Independence brewery.

Amy told me that Independence began with three brews: Independence Pale Ale, Bootlegger Brown Ale, and Freestyle. I just went to the HEB by my apartment in an attempt to mix and match these three brews for a tasting review. Unfortunately the “build your own 6-pack” section did not include the Independence brews, so I instead grabbed my favorite 6-pack, Independence Pale Ale, and swapped one of brews with a Bootlegger. I’ll start the Independence review with these two beers and pick up with the others in the next blog post.

a match made in heaven

a match made in heaven

glass

notice the brown color and thin head

Bootlegger Brown Ale – For a brown ale with a 6% alcohol content, this guy is really smooth. Rob actually told me that he had to tone down the alcohol content in the brew because it was dangerously easy to drink. Independence describes the brew:

“Smooth, chocolaty, and easy-drinking…. Brewed with the finest two-row barley and Belgian chocolate malt, Bootlegger has a distinctive, chocolaty flavor. Bootlegger is medium-bodied and filtered for a clean, laid-back finish.”

I give Bootlegger: 3.5 out of 5 mugs.


glass2

I can hear the hops screaming to be freed from their bottle

bottle3

...and they're free!

Independence Pale AleI think that I am becoming a hophead. This is a term that craft beer lovers have come up with to describe people that enjoy really hoppy brews like this pale ale. The combination of hops, citrus, and malt makes this beer shine. Independence describes this one:

“Bright, bold, and hoppy…Independence Pale Ale is a true Texas Pale Ale. Brewed with the finest two-row barley and Pacific Northwest hops, and then dry-hopped with generous quantities of Cascade and Saaz hops, Independence Pale Ale has a distinctive citrus aroma and clean, hoppy finish.”

I give Independence Pale Ale: 4 out of 5 mugs.

4 Responses to “Independence Brewery (1 of 2)”

  1. You can call me a Hophead then…

  2. Hophead

  3. […] In this post I continue my two-part series on Independence brewery located in Austin, TX. In the last post I described a talk that my friend Kris and I had with Independence owners Rob and Amy Cartwritght. […]

  4. hi!
    my name is klaus, and i´m a big beer fan! i love beer over all and i´m a big collector of all items of beer. for excample: beer coaster, crown caps, labels, stiker, matches,…
    i visit my girlfriend in georgia, atlanta, savanna, poolev from 19.04.2010 to 02.05.2010!
    if is possible and you are so friendly to send me some gifts (stuff) to my girlfriend, so you can make me very happy.
    in germany it´s very difficult become things from usa. for me it´s the first time, that i visit the usa.
    here the adress:

    Manuela Cook
    160 Somersby BLVD
    Poolev GA 31322

    or my adress in germany:

    klaus bent
    kalsmuntstr. 39b
    35578 wetzlar
    germany

    thanks for your time, klaus from germany

    ps: sorry for my bad english, but i try to be better

Leave a Reply

