European Tour (Part 2 of 2)

Hello beer lovers! Today I am going to walk you through a review of two new brews from Europe, concluding my two-part series of European beers. Unlike part one, I had my friend Rudy taste the beers so that I could get some outside perspective before writing the review.

Where the brews were purchased

For those of you who didn’t read part one, I purchased a “mix-n-match” six-pack from hyde park market. Each beer was imported for Europe. I highly recommend hyde park market for all of your beer-related needs because of the ridiculous selection available (fyi, the mix-n-match is about 14 bucks).

Today’s beers come from England and Ireland. I had a French beer, but it disappeared yesterday so sadly the European Tour went from a traditional six-pack to a “holiday” five-pack. Speaking of holidays, stores have pulled the Christmas trigger way to soon, but thats another topic for another blog. Back to the brew.

Old Speckled Hen

IMG_3806

With such a bad after taste, I recommend this as a prank gift

The first beer, Old Speckled Hen, is brewed by Greene King Corporate in England. This beer, which is orange with a subtle red tint, had a mild aroma that was a little unnerving. Nevertheless, we gave it a shot. I know that mother says “if you can’t say something nice don’t say anything at all” but, I’m going to have to break that rule. Speckled Hen was very acid on contact, tasted like cough medicine, and had an aftertaste that Rudy said was still with him about an hour later. “I think this is the worst beer I’ve had in my life…but it does have a nice color,” Rudy said.

My grade: 1 out of 5 mugs

See our rating system here

Smithwick’s Irish Beer

IMG_3811

Light and tasty, and it goes down smooth

The second beer, Smithwick’s Irish Red Ale, was very good. Of course, it is brewed by Guinness so I’d expect nothing less. The beer was light brown and tasted almost like a light dark beer, if such a thing exists. Although it had little to no fragrance, it was a somewhat sweet beer that went down very smooth. Rudy said it tasted like a watered down coke, but with a better taste.

My grade: 3.5 out of 5 mugs

Coming soon to Austinbrew

Thanks for joining me on my tour of Europe. Be sure to come back and check out my American tour, coming in the next couple of weeks. Also, one user had a question regarding light/low-cal beers. As such, I will do some investigating and write a piece about that soon!

3 Responses to “European Tour (Part 2 of 2)”

  1. Where are you going to start off the American tour?

  2. I’ll probably start out west, California and Colorado come to mind. I will also have something from the great state of Hawaii!

  3. I might have to try this Smithwick’s. Do you know if it is comparable to Killian’s Irish Red?

Leave a Reply

