German-Heritage Society Oktoberfest

This weekend I visited the German-Heritage Society Oktoberfest and enjoyed some great German food and beer. To be honest I was a bit disappointed to arrive and notice that there were only four types of beer being served. Three of the brews were from the historic Spaten brewery, which originated in Munich, Germany in 1397. These brews were Spaten Lager, Spaten Dunkel, and Spaten Oktoberfest. The fourth beer was a hefe-weisse from another Munich brewery called Franziskaner, with its origins dating back to 1363. Below we will take a look at each beer and I’ll let you know which one I think deserves top honor among the four.

Spaten Lager

Spaten Premium Lager – This light lager wasn’t very interesting, but it went quite well with my bratwurst and it was very easy to drink. It pours a clear yellow and it has a smooth taste of hops and a little bit of lemon. Although I liked the beer, it was probably my least favorite of the four.

|

|

|

oktoberSpaten Oktoberfest – I love the month of October, and October fest beers is one reason why. Spaten’s Oktoberfest brew poured a dark amber color and the taste had a hint of hops with a sweet flavor and a semi-bitter finish. Overall, this beer was my second favorite out of the four.

|

|

|

DunkleSpaten Dunkel – I’ll be honest, I’m not a fan of dunkel brews but Spaten’s version made me reconsider my previous judgments. This beer poured a dark amber color and its flavors consisted of roasted malts and caramel. The ending had a lingering aftertaste that reminded me of raisins. This one gets third place.

|

|

|

HefeFranziskaner Hefe-Weisse – Being a fan of hefe-wesses, it wasn’t difficult for me to enjoy this tasty brew. It pours a cloudy golden yellow color and has flavors of banana, citrus and clove. The overall flavor was smooth and refreshing. I hadn’t had this beer prior to this tasting, but it is certain that I will soon have it again. The hefe-weisse takes the top honor today!

2 Responses to “German-Heritage Society Oktoberfest”

  1. Interesting stuff! I have never really sampled the German beer to any great extent, but I will put these on my wish list. I wish I could have made it to the event. It sounded like a lot of fun.

    Do you know how much those beers cost for a six pack, or where in Austin they might be available?

  2. Hi Bill,

    I’m not really big into German beer either, but I might start drinking more of it after visiting this Oktoberfest.

    In my opinion, the best place to get beer in Austin would have to be Spec’s. I checked online and all four of the 6-pack prices are listed on their website at $7.36.

    You may also want to try your local HEB. The store on Far-West has a great selection and I know that they at least have the Spaten Premium Lager.

Leave a Reply

