Samuel Adams Winter Classics Beer Reviews

I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season. I have enjoyed some free time since school has let out. Last weekend, I picked up the Samuel Adams Winter Classics variety pack and decided to share my findings. The case cost around 12 dollars at Specs and even came with a bow on top!

Six varieties of beers and a bow on top!

Now, on to the beers. I review the Old Fezziwig Ale, Cranberry Lambic, Holiday Porter and Coastal Wheat. The 12 pack also came with the standard Sam Adams Ale and the Winter Lager, which I have had before and is high quality.

Old Fezziwig is the best named Holiday Beer.

Old Fezziwig is the best named Holiday Beer.

The Old Fezziwig ale, named after the festive character in the Christmas Carol will be first up. It pours dark brown, with a medium head. It smells like spices and fruit. It had a very caramel, fruity, full taste. A very good beer. I give it 3.75 out of 5.

The Holiday Porter

The Holiday Porter, named after the variety of beers popular with old porters in England is next up. It pours thin and dark. The taste is chocolaty and mildly bitter. Not as good as the Fezziwig, but still tasty. I give it a 3 out of 5.

Cranberry Good Times!

Cranberry Good Times!

The Cranberry Lambic is the most unique beer out of the bunch. It pours a reddish orange with a medium hear. It has a cranberry (obviously) smell. The taste is overwhelmingly fruity with some syrup hints. Very good beer, but I imagine not everyone has the pallete for it. I give it a 3.5 out of 5.

Coastal Wheat

Coastal Wheat

The Coastal Wheat is an interesting beer out of the pack. I wasn’t really sure how it related to Christmas. Nevertheless, it poured kind of yellowish with a slight head. Smelled kind of citrusy. It tasted lemony and little bit wheaty (is that a word?). Going from the darker beers to the Coastal Wheat was not the best idea. I give it a 2.5 out of 5.

Well, I would recommend picking up the Samuel Adams Winter Classic variety pack this Holiday Season, if you want a little variety and great brews.

Bill Bowman

Leave a comment