Tour de NXNW

In this post I preview some of the brews showcased at the North by Northwest restaurant/brewery located in north Austin, TX. My girlfriend and I boldly traveled there with notebook and camera in hand ready to give Austin Brew readers a taste of what the brewery has to offer. So, here it is, a break-down of the NXNW brew sampler.

brews

"Northern Light"

Northern Light

This brew had a light straw coloration and the taste reminded me of some more popular lagers made by macro-companies like Miller. To be fair, I had a few sips of this with my shrimp plate and it was a nice complement. Overall though this beer was boring to say the least. I give it a 5.5/10.

|

|

|

|

drink_duckabish

Duckabish Amber

The color of this brew is indeed in the name with its reddish amber appearance. The initial taste was that of malt with a thin body feel. The overall taste kind of reminded me of a bock from the Shiner brewery. The Amber gets a 6.5/10.

|

|

|

|

mini pumpkins by shelley_ginger

Pumpkin Seasonal Ale

I was in luck with this seasonal brew because they had just tapped the first kegs of it the day I arrived. This brew has a reddish coloration similar to the Duckish Amber. The taste was smooth and light and had hints of cinnamon and clove. I give this one a 7/10.

|

|

|

drink_jingo

Pyjingo Pale Ale

This brew had a golden orange color to it. The taste was an initial hit of malt that was immediately followed by a burst of hops and a hint of citrus. I have tried many Pale Ale’s and this one was slightly above average. I give it a 7.5/10.

|

|

|

|

drink_tuhelen

Bavarian Hefeweizen

The Hefe had a cloudy yellow straw coloration. The flavor had hints of grapefruit and clove. As a fan of hefeweizens I’d have to say that this one was average with a score of 7/10.

|

|

|

|

|

drink_okale

Okanogan Black Ale

I’m not too familiar with these darker beers but I think I’m getting there. This ale was not really black in coloration but more of a really dark red. It had a rich flavor that whispered chocolate. It kind of reminded me of some of the christmas beers, possible post?, that are beginning to emerge on store shelves. Overall score of 7/10 for the black ale.

|

|

|

Image Credits:

All black & white brew images: http://nxnwbrew.com/beer.php

pumpkin image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/39242181@N00/113481892/

Leave a comment